Well, that’s just Religulous…

Sorry for the long overdue responses and update to this post. I DID go see the movie Religulous..

I went a few weeks ago…  by myself.  This was the first time I ever went to a movie theater by myself – so, that alone was a trip.  But, I liked it – I found the whole experience very liberating… and validating… and by that, I mean both the movie itself, and the experience of going to a movie that I wanted to see all by myself… even if nobody else wanted to see it.

I was actually a little apprehensive… wondering who I might run in to there, or if there’d be any over zealous right wing christian fanatics throwing things at me or something.  But, no… it was pretty mellow.

I went on a Tuesday evening, around 5:30 pm.  It was the night of the presidential debate, so I had just enough time to see the movie and get home for the debate.  The theater was pretty dead.  I think there was about 12 people there, tops.  I  noticed there were several loners like myself.  Probably in the same boat as me where they didn’t know anyone who would be caught dead going to see this for fear of rotting in hell.  I secretly hoped I would know one of the other loners there.   Like.. maybe a casual work acquaintance or something, and we could be like “Hey!  Wow!?!  I didn’t know you were a skeptical mother-hucker too!?!?”…  but, no…. I didn’t know anyone… so, I slunk into my chair with my popcorn in hand and sat back and enjoyed the show.

I know there’s been some comments about Bill Maher being very rude and cocky… but, I have to say…  I found him to be quite funny and his sarcasm was like music to my ears.  I found the movie to be very……   validating.  Many of the questions he posed… are along the same lines as the way my own skeptical  mind thinks… and the very same things I quesiton.  The things he was pointing out as not making sense – DON’T MAKE sense!

I liked the fact that he explored many different religions… granted, he only glazed the surface of them – and didn’t go deep into any one of them  – but, that was enough to point out the similar idiocracies in many of them.  That was actually sort of the beauty of it to me.  It wasn’t anything you had to dig deep to see…

I laughed out louad a few times…  and when I wasn’t laughing, I was smiling.  Either a smile of amusement, or with content because I felt like “yes – this is proof that I’m not the only person around this town who thinks religion is a crock!”….  It felt good to be able to laugh and not feel like I was going to get a lecture from someone…  of course…  I assume this post might just bring on a lecture or two…

Did I mention the popcorn was good too?

=)
~smj

2 Responses to “Well, that’s just Religulous…”

  1. tobeme Says:

    I am looking forward to seeing this movie! Thanks for the review.

  2. mary a. kaufman Says:

    As yet, I have not been able to see Religulous for the simple reason it is not yet being shown anywhere close to where I live, and I’ve no wish to drive more than sixty miles to West Palm to see it. Just hope I don’t have to wait until its made available to the public on a DVD.


Leave a Reply

